A Sex Offender Must Register
Oklahoma law requires that any person convicted of a sex crime must register as a sex offender with the Oklahoma Sex and Violent Offender Registry. This registry tracks the whereabouts of sex offenders and makes this information available to the general public on their website.
For many convicted sex offenders, this requirement feels like an unfair invasion of their privacy, and so they avoid registering. Unfortunately for them, the Oklahoma State Legislature has determined that sex offenders’ right to privacy is less important than the public safety. Okla. Stat. tit. 57 § 581
Registration Requirements for Sex Offenders
In Oklahoma, a convicted sex offender has only three business days of being convicted or receiving a suspended sentence or any probationary term to register with the Department of Corrections. An offender must provide his or her initial home address to the Department of Corrections and to local law enforcement, as well as subsequent addresses each time the offender moves for the time prescribed by their assigned risk level. Okla. Stat. tit. 57 § 583
In addition, a convicted sex offender is prohibited from living within 2,000 feet of a school, playground, day care facility, or park. They are prohibited from working with children.
Oklahoma law assigns risk levels — 1-3 — determined solely from the underlying offense. These risk levels determine the frequency and duration that a sex offender must check in. Level 1 offenders must register annually for 15 years. Level 2 offenders, every six months for 25 years. And level 3 offenders must register every 90 days for life. Okla. Stat. tit. 57 § 583
This can chafe as the sense of freedom and privacy of an offender once he or she has served their time. People often feel shame at the prospect of registering and opt instead to fly under the radar. But failure to adhere to these requirements can be costly.
Risk Level Assessments
- Level 1 offenses: These pertain to such offenses as assault with intent to commit felony sexual assault, sexual abuse or exploitation of a child, child endangerment involving sexual abuse, sodomy, indecent exposure, child pornography, and distributing pornography.
- Level 2 offenses: These include solicitation, including online solicitation of a minor for an obscene purpose, and child prostitution.
- Level 3 offenses: The most serious level includes violent and habitual offenders and include such crimes as child sexual abuse or exploitation, child rape, first- or second-degree rape or rape by instrumentation, incest, forcible sodomy, indecent proposals or acts to a child under 16 years of age, sexual battery, kidnapping involving sexual abuse or exploitation, and child sex trafficking.
Penalties for Failure To Register Are Harsh
Failing to register as a sex offender is a felony in and of itself. If convicted, you could end up in jail for up to five years and/or pay a fine of up to $5,000. In addition, some sex offenders are required to wear a GPS monitoring device. Failure to comply with this order could subject you to up to a year in jail. In addition, you could have to pay a fine up to $1,000.
If you have questions about these requirements, or if you have failed to register and are looking for a way to make this right, make sure to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney in the Claremore area as soon as possible. Each day you delay increases the likelihood that you will be caught and have to spend more time in jail.
Free Consultation With An Experienced Claremore Criminal Defense Attorney
It is always a dangerous proposition to face the legal system alone. If you or a loved one are facing criminal charges, contact us for your free consultation. The Claremore lawyer will work hard to preserve your freedom.
And the initial consultation is free. Call us at (918) 213-0950. If you prefer written correspondence, submit your question using the form at the top right of this page.