Your license lapses and you think you will get to it next week. But the week passes, then the months pass. You may think that driving with an expired license or no license is an inconsequential administrative matter. But if you get caught, the lack of a driver’s license could be more problematic than you think.
Do You Really Need a Driver’s License to Drive in Oklahoma?
The short answer to this question is yes. In Oklahoma, the law states that you must have a valid driver’s license in order to drive upon any public roads, streets, highways, turnpikes or other public places within the state. Okla. Stat. tit. 47 § 6-303. A violation of this basic lack of a valid license is a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of as little as $50 and as much as $300. And you could be sentenced to as many as 30 days in jail.
Any offense that could land you in jail is serious. If you can produce a valid driver’s license that was invalid on the date you were pulled over, you may have the charges dismissed. And if you can renew your license before your court date, the court may reduce your fine.
Penalties for driving with a canceled, suspended or denied license, depend on the number of violations you have.
For a first conviction, the fine is as little as $100 and as much as $500.
For a second conviction, the fine is as little as $200 and as much as $750.
A third or subsequent conviction carries a fine as little as $300 and as much as $1,000.
In addition, the court can sentence you to jail for as much as one year. Okla. Stat. tit. 47 § 6-303.
If the revocation or suspension of your license was due to a DUI and you are caught driving, the penalties are higher. A first conviction fine is as little as $500 and as much as $1,000 for a first offense; as little as $1,000 and as much as $2,000 for a second offense; and as little as $2,000 and as much as $5,000 for any subsequent offense. The court could sentence you to jail for as much as a year. Okla. Stat. tit. 47 § 6-303
Accidents Without A Valid License Are Serious
If you cause an accident while driving with a canceled, denied, suspended or revoked license, and a person is injured, you could face a felony sentence of as much as one year in jail. And you could be fined as much as $2,000. If you cause grave bodily injury, you could serve as many as five years in jail and pay a fine of as much as $3,000. If someone dies as a result of the accident, you could serve as many as five years in jail and pay a fine as much as $5,000. Okla. Stat. tit. 47 § 11-905.
These consequences can change the course of your life. Anytime you face possible jail time, you should take the matter seriously. Hire an experienced criminal defense attorney and have an advocate on your side.
Free Consultation With An Experienced Claremore Criminal Defense Attorney
Although this may look like a minor crime, its effects can escalate quickly. Call the Claremore Lawyer today. We are here and ready to help you. We pride ourselves on providing the very best in legal representation at reasonable prices. And the initial consultation is free. Call us at (918) 213-0950. If you prefer written correspondence, submit your question using the form at the top right of this page.